career, happiness, job, life, Lifestyle, Mental Health, office

Wasting our lives

“Its almost Fridaaaay!” my coworkers sing to me. As the week goes on, the weight that everyone carries becomes a little lighter. By the time Friday actually arrives, the smiles on their faces are more apparent and moods are lightened.

When I first started working your typical 9-5 office job, I was almost shocked at how many times I would hear this throughout the week. It always slightly bothered me that everyone had the same attitude. Honestly, i’m finding myself extremely guilty for it as well. I cannot wait until Friday @ 4:30pm. Time to go home, maybe make a quick pit stop at the liquor store and pick myself up a bottle of Cabernet Sauvignon.

By the time Sunday evening arrives, I feel depressed while I pack my lunch for the next day. I can taste Monday morning’s bitterness.

What is so disheartening is that such a large amount of people feel the same way on their Sunday evenings. We “live” for the weekend. How is this living? We’re doing nothing but solely existing on this planet. What makes this all worse is that we work for a pay cheque that goes directly towards our bills and our debt. It’s a vicious cycle that our society is struggling horrendously to break.

We are told to finance a car, get a 20-30 year mortgage on a home, oh look, you’re pre-approved for a $10 000 credit card. And we say YES because of the instant gratification right there at our finger tips. We end up paying this back for the rest of our lives, while we work at jobs that get us through the work week.

How do we break this cycle? Why do we continue to waste our lives?

1 thought on “Wasting our lives”

Leave a comment